The Review

  • All posts, comments and
    statements made on IR are those of the authors only. Any disputes must be addressed to the writers, who are solely responsible for their posts, comments and statements. We reserve the right to deny or remove comments. Content may not be used without permission of the author.

Subscribe



  • Powered by FeedBlitz

Follow IR



Economy Feed

Di Leo: From Minimum Wage to Maximum Damage

Store closing

By John F. Di Leo - 

The halls of Congress are ringing with the siren song of an increased minimum wage. Politicians who don’t have employees of their own promised their constituents fat sums of other people’s money during the campaign, and now they feel it’s time to delivery on the promise, by mandating that other companies raise the hourly wage they pay their employees. 

And it’s not just a raise, it’s a standard, a new flat number from coast to coast and border to border, determined arbitrarily, because it sounds neat and feels generous. 

The proposal on the table is to more than double the current federal minimum wage, from $7.25 to $15.00 per hour. On what is this new number based?  On the fact that several big cities have mandated this number, so the politicians can use their number and absolve themselves of responsibility for coming up with a proposal themselves. 

Continue reading "Di Leo: From Minimum Wage to Maximum Damage" »


Friday, August 05, 2022

Wednesday, July 27, 2022

Friday, July 22, 2022

Wednesday, June 29, 2022

Friday, June 17, 2022

Wednesday, June 15, 2022

Monday, June 13, 2022

Monday, May 23, 2022

Monday, May 09, 2022

Monday, April 11, 2022

Monday, April 04, 2022

Monday, March 21, 2022

Wednesday, March 16, 2022

Monday, March 14, 2022

Monday, March 07, 2022

Wednesday, March 02, 2022

Friday, February 18, 2022

Monday, February 14, 2022

Monday, February 07, 2022

Wednesday, January 05, 2022

Monday, December 27, 2021

Monday, December 20, 2021

Friday, December 17, 2021

Friday, December 03, 2021

Wednesday, November 24, 2021

Monday, November 08, 2021

Friday, November 05, 2021

Monday, November 01, 2021

Friday, October 29, 2021

Friday, October 22, 2021

Monday, October 18, 2021

Friday, October 15, 2021

Wednesday, October 13, 2021

Monday, October 11, 2021

Friday, October 01, 2021

Wednesday, September 29, 2021

Monday, September 27, 2021

Monday, September 20, 2021

Wednesday, August 11, 2021

Wednesday, May 19, 2021

Monday, March 22, 2021

Wednesday, March 10, 2021

Wednesday, March 03, 2021

Wednesday, December 30, 2020

Friday, December 18, 2020

Friday, November 13, 2020

Friday, October 30, 2020