5.2 F
Tuesday, January 31, 2023
HomeIllinois PoliticsFormer Obama cabinet member Ray LaHood endorses Kasich for president

Former Obama cabinet member Ray LaHood endorses Kasich for president




PEORIA – Friday, Illinois' Ray LaHood - who served as a member of Barack Obama's cabinet - endorsed Ohio Governor John Kasich for President and joined the Illinois Kasich for America leadership team as a state co-chair.  

LaHood served as the United States Secretary of Transportation from 2009 until 2013 for President Barack Obama. Before that, he served as a Republican Congressman from Illinois’s 18th Congressional District from 1995 to 2009.

“I served alongside John Kasich in Congress when he was Chairman of the Budget Committee and led the way to balance the federal budget," LaHood said in a statement. "I have always admired his ability to bring people together to get things done. His record of results is unmatched in this field, and I am certain that he is the best leader to unite our nation.”

Said Kasich, "I have known Ray for many years and respect his dedication to serving our country. I’m grateful for his support as we expand our ground operations in Illinois." 

Kasich for America Illinois Leadership Team


Christine Radogno, Republican Leader, Illinois Senate


Ray LaHood, Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation

Dan Cronin, DuPage County Board Chairman

Dave Syverson, Illinois State Senator, 35th District

Ed Sullivan, Illinois House of Representatives, 51st Distrct

David Harris, Illinois House of Representatives, 53rd District

Ron Sandack, Illinois House of Representatives, 81st District

Tom Demmer, Illinois House of Representatives, 90th District

Jil Tracy, Illinois House of Representatives, 94th District (former)

Randy Frese, Illinois House of Representatives, 94th District

Chad Hays, Illinois House of Representatives, 104th District 

The Honorable Joseph Mohorovic, Commissioner of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission

Jim Schultz, Director, Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity; Chairman, Citizens for Rauner

Pat Brady, former Chairman of the Illinois Republican Party

Sean Morrison, Cook County Commissioner, 17th District

Leadership Team:

Aaron Del Mar, Chairman of the Cook County Republican Party

Seth McMillan, Chairman of the Christian County Republican Party

Jerome Groniger, Chairman of the Coles County Republican Party

Liz Gorman, former Cook County Commissioner, 17th District

Cory Jobe, Director, Illinois Office of Tourism, Ward 6 Alderman

John Farney, Champaign County Auditor

Kristy Stephenson, City Treasurer, City of Metropolis


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories


  1. Too many people say that LaHood is liberal. During most of the time that he was in the U.S. House, his rating from the National Right to Life Committee was 100%, his rating from the National Conservative Union was 95%, and his ratings from the AFL-CIO and ACLU were 5%.