58.6 F
Monday, June 5, 2023
HomeIllinois NewsWill County Republican Central Committee Elects New Chairman

Will County Republican Central Committee Elects New Chairman


Will County Republican Central Committe Elects New Chairman 
Will County, IL – On Sunday, February 17, 2019, George Pearson of Monee was unanimously elected as the new chairman of the Will County Republican Central Committee. A vacancy was created when Chairman Marianne DeMerritt resigned on January 17.
Over 100 precinct committeemen from throughout Will County witnessed history being made: George Pearson is the first African American chairman of the Will County Republican Party. The Will County Republican Central Committee elected its first female chairman, Kathy Havel, in 2016. DeMerritt succeeded Havel in 2018. Pearson noted, “Will County has long exercised true inclusion within our ranks as diversity is our strength. From the Village of Bolingbrook to Wilton Township, WCRCC has always nurtured our talented precinct committeemen and committeewomen. My goal is to reintroduce that message to every Will County voter.”
As he accepted his new position, Pearson said, “I am honored to be your next chairman. My message is about unity. We are all Americans in here, and we stand for our principles and for our party’s platform. I look forward to working with all Republicans as we bring true fiscal conservatism back to Will County.”
George Pearson is also the current chairman of the Monee Township Republicans.


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories