69.9 F
Monday, June 5, 2023
HomeIllinois News15 Democrats now say they will not support Mike Madigan for Speaker...

15 Democrats now say they will not support Mike Madigan for Speaker in January




CHICAGO – The younger, radically-Left members of the Illinois House Democrat Caucus are one-by-one rejecting longtime House Speaker Mike Madigan as the Feds move to indict numerous political allies of the Speaker.

The number of those turning their backs on the Illinois Democrat Party Chairman and House Speaker that helped many of them obtain office reached 15 Thursday – potentially keeping the Speaker from reaching the needed 60 votes to be re-elected in January 2021. 

Those who've made public announcement they will not support the Speaker in January are as follows: 

  • Jonathan Carroll – 57th District
  • Sam Yingling – 62nd District
  • Will Guzzardi – 39th District
  • Kelly Cassidy – 14th District
  • Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz – 17th District
  • Terra Costa-Howard – 48th District
  • Maurice West – 67th District
  • Bob Morgan – 58th District
  • Anne Stava-Murray – 81st District
  • Stephanie Kifowit – 84th District
  • Lindsey LaPointe – 19th District
  • Deb Conroy – 46th District
  • Robyn Gabel – 18th District
  • Anna Moeller – 43rd District
  • Ann Williams – 11th District 


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories